Peacock Paint Studio

An ambitious and creative art portfolio.

Second Annual ‘Celebracion’ Dia de Los Muertos submissions

Last year I submitted two paintings for this show. This year, I am spicing things up a bit. I decided to cast skulls with plaster of Paris, paint them gold, add bits of broken jewelry from my late, but GREAT Grandmother Vada. I also made the hat on the male figure and the crown (out of vintage lace) on the female figure.

(Both – 11 x 14, $150 each)

For me, it was important to bring bits of my past into these pieces. Besides the jewelry, thoughts of my heritage went back to the Victorian era in England. My grandmother came from high class and this is why I styled the pieces in this way.

Remembering those whom have left the physical world and paying homage to the blood that flows through my veins. IMG_4706.JPGIMG_4707.JPGIMG_4705.JPG

Last year my works were these:

IMG_2938.JPG

IMG_2975.JPG

Leave a Reply

