Peacock Paint Studio

An ambitious and creative art portfolio.

How I make Gnomes…

A few folks have asked how my gnomes are created. So I took some pics and have a list of supplies. Share pics of your gnomes. I’d love to see them! 

I start with the following supplies:

  • A log (dead & free of bugs!)
  • Scrap fabric ( old sweaters work too)
  • A nose  (I sculpt mine, make a mold and cast with plaster of paris, paint or seal them with a spray.)
  • Fake fur
  • A bell
  • Hot glue gun
  • Polyester fiber fill
  • Sewing machine, thread & needle

My logs vary in size, the hat fitting is the key and you have to try the hat on the end of the log. After turning them right side out, I check the size on the log. Some of my hats fit tight and some are just right… Lol

   
 
I cut the fur for the beard, and attach it first, than the nose… 

   
Add some stuffing inside the hat and attach the hat. I hand stitch the bell.

    

And there you have it… You very own gnome!(I added some extra touches here and there- but you get the picture.)

  

Leave a Reply

